February 10, 2023

Issue #7

Good morning friends!

I hope you slept well:)

Quote of the day:

“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived. I did not wish to live what was not life, living is so dear; nor did I wish to practise resignation, unless it was quite necessary. I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life, to live so sturdily and Spartan-like as to put to rout all that was not life, to cut a broad swath and shave close, to drive life into a corner, and reduce it to its lowest terms...”

- Henry David Thoreau

A Musing, Aphorism, and Heuristic (or something like that)…

i) It would ne absurd to be surprised at a fig-tree bearing figs - Marcus Aurelius

The line before this Marcus Aurelius writes:

Whenever you meet someone, ask yourself first this immediate question:

‘What beliefs does this person hold about the good and bad in life?’

Because if he believes this or that about pleasure and pain and their constituents , about fame and obscurity, death and life, then I shall not find it surprising or strange if he acts in this or that way, and I shall remember that he ahs no choice but to act as he does.

We all have beliefs that guide us.

Realize this and accept it.

You may bear apples, don’t be resentful when someone bears figs.

ii) You may leave this life at any moment: have this possibility in mind in all that you do or say or think - Marcus Aurelius

You will die.

What you don’t know is when you will move on.

Don’t be a fool who acts differently because you see death as something far off in the future.

Instead think of yourself as dying a little each day.

Then act as someone who is dying.

Do what matters.

iii) Stop and smell the roses…

You sacrifice today for a better tomorrow.

You work hard, go to the gym, write that message…

This is good…

But when exactly is ‘tomorrow’

Don’t be a fool who puts off joy.

Cocktail Time: Communication tip; And the occasional joke; And fact

Communication tip:

Don’t be a liar.

Tell the truth.

The 2 most common reasons people lie are:

  • Embarrassment

  • Insecurity

You either feel as though the truth is embarrassing or you feel inferior.

But people respect honesty.

One of the worst traits a person can have is dishonesty.

So as Jordan Peterson says,

“Tell the truth or at least don’t lie.”

One Actionable Tip to Improve your Life Today:

This is for those trying to make money through a social media personal brand.

If you don’t have an offer create one today (service).

If you do, send out 5 DMs to people you think you can help.

A few tips for cold DMing:

  • Keep it short

  • Be straight forward

  • Be kind

  • Be honest

Worse case you get blocked, best case you got a client.

A Few Resources:

i) Check out the movie ‘Soul’ it’s a great, light-hearted film.

ii) If you’re wondering why there was a lot of Marcus Aurelius, I was reading Meditations, I highly recommend if you haven’t read it yet.

Thanks for reading friends!

I hope was able to give you something of value this morning.

If I did can you do me a favor and share this newsletter by clicking the socials at the top.

I look forward to seeing you all tomorrow.

- Morning Musing